Featured, News

Miller, Capito Among Large Host Calling for Renewal of National Coal Council

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Congresswoman Carol Miller (R-WV) joined 26 of her colleagues in sending a bicameral letter to United States Department of Energy Secretary, Jennifer Granholm urging the renewal of the National Coal Council’s (NCC) charter.

The NCC is a Federal Advisory Committee that provides recommendations to the Executive Branch regarding coal policies and technologies. The Council’s reports additionally help lawmakers craft energy and manufacturing policy. The NCC is made up of coal producers and consumers, carbon researchers, academics, environmentalists, and policy experts.

The letter reads, “As global coal consumption is projected to increase, it is essential that the United States remains a leader in advancing coal and carbon related technologies. National Economic Council Director Brian Deese recently said, “The global nature of climate change also provides an opportunity for U.S. industry to help others meet their climate targets. We were once the arsenal of democracy for the world during World War II. We can again be an arsenal for the world dealing with climate change.”

“The NCC provides the Department with the tools and information it needs to ensure America’s carbon management technologies are cutting edge and are deployed around the world. America’s leadership in advancing coal and carbon-management technologies will have a profound impact on meeting global climate targets, while allowing emerging economies access to reliable, affordable energy.”

“Denying newly mined coal a position in the domestic energy and manufacturing mix will come at a serious cost, both here at home and around the world. A politically driven rejection of understanding the benefits of newly mined coal and carbon research today kill thousands of jobs and innovation. It will leave our children and children around the world without the tools they need to both meet electricity demand and manage carbon.”

The letter was signed by Sens. John Barrasso (R-WY), Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV), Mike Braun (R-IN), Kevin Cramer (R-ND), Steve Daines (R-MT), John Hoeven (R-ND), James Lankford (R-OK), Cynthia Lummis (R-WY), Mitt Romney (R-UT), Todd Young (R-IN), and Reps. David McKinley (R-WV), Alex Mooney (R-WV), Bruce Westerman (R-AR), Kelly Armstrong (R-ND), Mike Bost (R-IL), Larry Bucshon (R-IN), Liz Cheney (R-WY), Tom Cole (R-OK), John Curtis (R-UT), Morgan Griffith (R-VA), Bill Johnson (R-OH), John Joyce (R-PA), Doug Lamborn (R-CO), Mike Kelly (R-PA), Greg Pence (R-IN), and Guy Reschenthaler (R-PA).