WYOMING COUNTY, W.Va. – West Virginia holds strict standards for forest fire laws in order to protect one of the state’s most valuable resources – our forests. Please be completely familiar with the following requirements any time you are burning outdoors.

Between March 1st and May 31st, burning is restricted throughout the day from 7 a.m. until 5 p.m.

Fires must be attended at all times and the Division of Forestry insists the area must be cleared down to mineral soil for a minimum distance of 10 feet around what is being burned. All fires must have a ring or safety strip as well.

If your fire escapes, you are liable for the costs of fighting the fire and any damage the fire may cause to others.

If burning has occurred during permitted hours (5 p.m. to 7 a.m.), the fire must be completely extinguished by 7 a.m.

Burning season prohibitions exclude 1) small fires for the purpose of food preparation, warmth or light around which all grass, brush, stubble or debris has been removed for at least 10 feet from the fire and 2) burning which is conducted at any time when the ground surrounding the burning site is covered by one inch of snow or more.

You May Also Like

Superintendent Cline Outlines Plan for Summer Graduation Ceremonies

WYOMING COUNTY, WV – Wyoming County Schools Superintendent Deirdre Cline recently issued…

DMV Announces Extension to Sept. 30, 2020 for Several DMV Transactions

CHARLESTON, WV – The West Virginia Division of Motor Vehicles announced today…

Turning The Pages

By: Paige Cline Skin Fork has changed since the days when I…

Pandemic Response Leaders Discussing Possibility of Lifting Some School and Business Restrictions

CHARLESTON, W.Va. – Gov. Justice announced during Wednesday’s briefing that, as part…